Call us today + 61 7 3210 0888

List of eligible countries for a Work and Holiday visa expanding in 2014

Immigration Lawyer

The Australian Work and Holiday visa program is for young people aged 18 to 30 years old, from reciprocating countries, which allows them to work or study temporarily during their holiday in Australia.

This year, Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, Senator the Hon. Michaelia Cash, announced the addition of Poland to the list of reciprocating countries, starting 1 August 2014.

Minister Cash was “excited that young adults from both countries will be able to experience a once-in-a-lifetime cultural experience, while at the same time strengthening links between our two countries”.

There will be 200 places on offer for each country per programme year.

The Current Reciprocating Countries for a Work and Holiday Visa include:
• Argentina
• Bangladesh
• Chile
• Indonesia
• Malaysia
• Poland
• Thailand
• Turkey
• United States of America
• Uruguay

Also, Australia has signed Work and holiday agreements with Greece. The Work and Holiday arrangement with Greece will come into effect after a start date has been agreed.

Published: 18 August 2014